The Chrissy Witoko Memorial Trust


Home | Picture's of the Ball | Symon Witoko | Tim Barnett | Munns Suit Hire | Major Sponsors | Mama Tere | NZ Police -Diversity Liaison Officers | Hon Marian Hobbs | Pollyfilla | Mayor Kerry Prendergast | Toni Huata | Elena | Eugene Moore | Carmen | Frankie Stevens | Tiwhanawhana Trust 2007

Elena & Simply Fantastic Quartet
ELENA is an extraordinary musician and violin player whose debut album "ELENA" features exciting arrangements of classical and traditional Maori and European compositions designed to break down the musical barriers between these diverse disciplines.
The opening track, Canon's 'Pachelbel' combines with ELENA's mihi and Karanga.
Gareth Farr's composition 'He Tango mo Elena' is one of the album's highlights. The haka (of love!) interweaves with the dance of sorrow (tango). 'He Tango mo Elena' features the full NGC Wellington Sinfonia, ELENA's beautiful violin solo and vocals from Brannigan Kaa and Kapa Haka group, Tu Te Maungaroa.
Maori classics such as 'Blue Smoke' and 'Once Were Warriors' are performed as String Quartet and full orchestral scores. ELENA's electric violin replaces the electric guitar on the 'Warriors' track.
The wonderful vocals of April Neho, Howard McGuire and Aroha Priest are enhanced by ELENA's violin and Steffen Gores' guitar on 'Hine E Hine'.
Bic Runga's 'Sway' is given the string quartet treatment and Latin American rhythms are to the fore on 'Puerto' and 'La Compasita'.
Nga Waiata :
1. Canon
2. He Tango Moo Elena
3. Tarakihi
4. Sway
5. Last of the Mohicans
6. Once Were Warriors
7. Blue Smoke
8. Hine e Hine
9. Puerto
10. La Compasita
11. Elena's Elegant Violin
12. Toccato & Fugue

Elena Violinist.